Posted by: Phoebe | December 1, 2010

Life Goes Fast

I feel a bit sorry that I have neglected my blog so over the past few months! These are not profound, just some personal thoughts as I think how fast my life is going. In some ways this is a Thanksgiving post.

“Go from your country and your kindred and your father’s house to the land that I will show you.” (Genesus 12:1)

I moved to a new place, a Big Texas City this year. It was my first step away from the home and family I had lived with for 22 years. I was sad to say goodbye, shedding some tears with my dear friends and family. Partly it was through realizing that, though I would always love and know them, I wouldn’t be around to enjoy their presence. My community and friends at home would change over the next months and I would not be there with them to experience those changes. Life goes so fast.

…Do not be anxious about your life, what you will eat or what you will drink, nor about your body, what you will put on. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothing? (Matthew 6:25)

I also worried — would I have enough money for rent, for tuition? Would I get a job? Now looking back, I feel foolish for having worried so much, (even a couple times almost to tears), for I’ve seen how God is providing for me. I need to reassess my finances now, but I don’t want to worry. Doesn’t he watch the sparrows and clothe the lily? Life goes fast; I must live well, but not worry about each day!

So too at the present time there is a remnant, chosen by grace. (Romans 11:5)

In my new place, the Big Texas City, there were brothers and sisters in Jesus, and fellow music lovers. My roommate and I were clearly placed together by God, and have enjoyed life together. Before I knew it, I felt loved and rich in friends. That’s not something to take for granted! I know sometimes it is a lot harder for people to find community. I found a place so quickly partly because I am in a university, where I am able to interact with the same people daily. Partly it is due the warm, welcoming, and international spirit of this BTC. But mostly it is because God has given us the gift of the body of Christ, and there are some of his people almost everywhere on the earth. I feel so grateful. I have been given so much, and I know much is expected of me!

For everything there is a season, and a time for every matter under heaven… (Ecclesiastes 3:1)

Sooner than I would have imagined a young man expressed his interest in me. I was expecting him to talk to me from the signs he gave, and even hoping he would, but to my surprise, at first when we talked I had hesitations. It was not for any reason relating to his character, but because I felt I could almost see the future with this man, leading possibly to marriage. All of a sudden I felt that life was going too fast! The freedom and opportunities of singleness might be gone sooner than I had expected. I expected to have more time to wait! But God is faithful, and blessing our relationship. It’s the right time.

Whatever your hand finds to do, do it with your might… (Ecclesiastes 9:1)

I am wrapping up the first of four semesters of my master’s degree in piano, and feel like I just started yesterday. I want to enjoy my opportunity to have music as such a priority, because I know my priorities may change. In the next year I also want to minister as a single girl while I can. I want to do my work with all my might. It is strange to think that marriage and motherhood may be in my future in just the next few years. Life will go fast then too, just in a different way. Time is short; I want to pray for God’s purpose with the finite days of my life.

So teach us to number our days that we may get a heart of wisdom. (Psalm 90:12)

Responses

  1. I enjoy you! even from so far away :) Beautiful pjoy, this is such a cool way to see how God has answered the prayers of patience to wait on Him, and how he is still taking you through that! I love you


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

