Posted by: Phoebe | July 4, 2008

Spring of Life

Water is a natural resource I too easily take for granted. I have plenty of fresh, good-tasting water at home and at school. I can bathe whenever I want. But, for all its goodness, water on this earth is has its own problems. It is a resource that is unavailable for many people. It is hard to keep water clean. Water floods peoples homes. Mosquitos breed in water. And for me personally, drinking water or any other drink only goes so far. I can drink a tall glass of water and still feel thirsty. Sticky sweet soda or dry, acidic tea does no better. Even if my thirst is quenched, I know that I have to constantly keep drinking to stay hydrated. Water may quench my thirst momentarily, and it is vital for life, but yet does not permanently satisfy any need I have. 

Jesus shows us something about himself when he talks about water in John 4. In this story, he talks to a Samaritan woman who is drawing water at an ancient well and asks her to give him a drink. As far as water goes, this is all normal. But then Jesus throws a megalomaniac claim out to the woman. He says,  

“If you knew the gift of God, and who it is that is saying to you, ‘Give me a drink,’

you would have asked him, and he would have given you living water.

Everyone who drinks of this water will be thirsty again, 

but whoever drinks of the water that I will give him will never be thirsty again. 

The water that I will give him will become in him a spring of water welling up to eternal life.”

The woman is astonished, as am I. What would it be like to drink water that perfectly quenches thirst? And more, to have deep waters of life that spring up out of me? Jesus gives his followers this water, and it is himself. 

The image of a spring of water is also found in Isaiah 58, where the Lord tells us that when we fulfill righteousness, 

You shall be like a watered garden,
like a spring of water,
whose waters do not fail.”

What an amazing image! The only problem is that I cannot fulfill righteousness on my own, I cannot forge those springs of water in myself. It is an awesome twist of God’s plan that it is only by Jesus’s cleansing of my sin, and by his righteousness poured over me, that God places himself, the spring of eternal life, in me.

So, like the woman at the well, I place my faith in this unusual man, Jesus. I ask him to place himself in me that he may pour out of me, satisfying me and those around me with his gift of eternal life. I ask that I may not try to dilute or pollute this spring by longing for other springs, other sources of pleasure that will not satisfy.

Jesus, Jesus alone, be my water.

Leave a Reply

Categories

