Posted by: Phoebe | September 27, 2008

Assurance not Assumptions

What is an assumption? It is an act of supposing something or taking something for granted. I do it all the time, usually because there has been precedent in the past for certain causes to have certain results. For example, I assume my mother will prepare dinner, which is a good assumption because she has always made dinner. She is the First Cause of my dinner, and to assume this is good. But assumptions are not always good. This is a list things I assume:

Assumptions I have from growing up with a good economy:

  • I assume that the man who provides for me, (my hard-working, faithful father), will continue to have a steady job and will not be laid off.
  • I assume that there will be enough money for me to go to grad school
  • I assume that I will always be able to work and buy the things I need and want
  • I assume that there will always be food and housing available in this nation, that I will not undergo famine or deep poverty

Assumptions from growing up safe and healthy all my life:

  • I assume an earthquake, fire, storm, or other natural disaster will not disrupt my life
  • I assume that I will not die of an accident or get cancer
  • I assume I will never be terribly injured or maimed
  • I assume that I will always have my own mind

Assumptions about my life as a student/worker/citizen:

  • I assume that I will always be free to read and say what I want to.
  • I assume that I will not undergo persecution for any of my beliefs
  • I assume that I will always have, with hard work, the resources to study or to pursue careers as I wish
  • I assume that I will always have a good reputation, that I will not ever be disliked or defamed

Many assumptions! I also assume these things for the people I love. I think we all do. Today my mother, (my most wonderful dinner-provider, bless her) told me she had heard that Kay Arthur, an eminent Bible teacher, had predicted famine. This rumor turns out to be only partially true, but it is very true that Arthur was warning that our nation is set up for judgment. She did not prophesy famine, but she warned that such judgements may be in the future. Upon hearing this, I thought, “surely we could never have famine here,” and then realized what an assumption this was. By thinking it, I assumed that my life and the lives of my dear ones will always be as good as it has been. That I will always be “healthy, wealthy, and wise.” The truth is, I may not. We may not. We may suffer famine, poverty, and discrimination.

This is the truth I want to live by: Jesus Christ is in control. “He is before all things, and in him all things hold together.” (Col. 1:17) Not only is he in power, holding everything together in a continuous action, but he is also “before all things.” I think this probably has multiple meanings: over all things, exalted above all things, honored above all things. Jesus and his glory are supreme. I can have comfort that because Jesus’ glory is most important, that anything that happens on this earth, however terror-ful, will result in his glory. I can have comfort because I know my good is tied up with his glory, and he will work things out for the good of those who love Him. He will use life to make me more like Jesus. I can be assured of this because the character of God is reliable. This is not just an assumption based on the precedents in my life, it is backed up by God’s Word and the span of history.

I rest upon this assurance by faith: God is sovereign, and he loves his children. He is sovereign over day-to-day occurrences and over the short scope of my life and over the gigantic scope of history. He will shape them for his glory and my everlasting delight. No matter what happens, I want to let that assurance color my thinking. I want to live under that assurance and not under any assumptions that life will just continue as it has so far. Instead of thinking “I assume this….” I now want to think, 

“I am assured that…”

(Romans 8:28-39)

And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.

For those God foreknew he also predestined to be conformed to the likeness of his Son, that he might be the firstborn among many brothers. And those he predestined, he also called; those he called, he also justified; those he justified, he also glorified.

 What, then, shall we say in response to this? If God is for us, who can be against us? He who did not spare his own Son, but gave him up for us all—how will he not also, along with him, graciously give us all things? Who will bring any charge against those whom God has chosen? It is God who justifies. Who is he that condemns? Christ Jesus, who died—more than that, who was raised to life—is at the right hand of God and is also interceding for us. Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall trouble or hardship or persecution or famine or nakedness or danger or sword? As it is written:
   “For your sake we face death all day long;
      we are considered as sheep to be slaughtered.”

No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us.

For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

 

Responses

  1. Thank you PhoebeJoy. It is good to be assured in a time when my assumptions are also being challenged!

  2. Hi sweetie! I just refound your blog, and I am going to have to read some of your posts soon. Hope practicing is going well. Love you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

