Posted by: Phoebe | December 20, 2008

Addictions

Addictions are terrible things. When that word comes to mind, we think of alcohol, drugs, and illicit sexual things.  I heard recently about a guy addicted to internet games, another one addicted to online blitz chess.  It is easy even to hold myself superior to those people, but the truth is we all tend to addiction. How about these things for addicive substances:

  • Self-pity – Stroking the little me inside, I make excuses for myself and blame others for my problems. What I feel is totally justifiable, right? Mama, how dare you keep making demands on me! I feel sooo overworked.
  • Internet – Just one more link, just one more comment, one more check of the Facebook page! I’ll make it quick. I deserve it, right?
  • Procrastination – I’ll do it later. Really, I need a break. I work better under pressure anyway. I’m relaxed; I’m not going to stress or worry; that’s obedience to God, right?

The sad thing is, these indulgences, compulsively obeyed, don’t satisfy. From Isaiah 55 and John 6:

Why do you spend your money for that which is not bread,
and your labor for that which does not satisfy?
Listen diligently to me, and eat what is good,
and delight yourselves in rich food.
Incline your ear, and come to me;
hear, that your soul may live…

Jesus said to them, “I am the bread of life; whoever comes to me shall not hunger, and whoever believes in me shall never thirst.

God give me your grace, to addict myself to what You give: yourself. Like the song says,

“Give me one pure and holy passion;

give me one magnificent obsession,

give me one glorious ambition for my life:

to know and follow hard after You.”

Responses

  1. Sometimes I wonder at how we take God’s availability for granted instead of realizing our real and raw need for Him every hour! Sadly, (speaking personally), this seems to prevent appropriate addiction to Him.

  2. Yes, I agree. And that’s an evil. Taking God for granted and then ignoring him! Lord forgive us…..


Leave a Reply

Categories

