Posted by: Phoebe | February 12, 2009

Be to me as the sun

springlight1

painting by Mandy Budan

Be to me as the sun, and not the moon, dear Lord.

I may gaze on the moon as I am, unmediated.
But it is cold and distant and small.


I need a God who blinds me, as Saul
Who parches and melts and purifies my human strength.

Then like Paul’s, perfect my eyes, Jesus Savior
To see your love and grace and glory, in Your strength.


Spirit, in all my actions I need your piercing fire
To penetrate, surround, and brighten me for yourself.

Never may I hide in my soul’s dark rooms
To think and move and feel by my own reason.


Be to me as the sun, your beauty to my face, my Father,
For from you come whiteness, greenness, and sunsets,

Glorious one.

Responses

  1. Amen. A lovely prayer. I echo the sentiment and at this time I especially like the lines:
    “Never may I hide in my soul’s dark rooms
    To think and move and feel by my own reason.”
    Amen

    • Thanks, Laurie! It is so fun to have a friend in the blogosphere. I really liked your song with your husband on your blog. Thank God he loves us!

  2. Good stuff, sister. It has beautiful imagery and good meaning.

  3. Are you okay?


Leave a Reply

Categories

