Posted by: Phoebe | June 6, 2009

The Humanist Attitude Versus the Humble Attitude

I can do it    ~ versus ~   By Grace, I can do it

I can’t do it ~ ~ ~ I am weak. He is strong

I’m cool  ~ ~ ~ God has blessed me

I am smart ~ ~ ~ I have a lot to learn and God has protected me in my naivete

I am a good person ~ ~ ~ I deserve death and Jesus died in my stead.

I do good things ~ ~ ~ My Shepherd is leading and guiding me

I should protect myself ~ ~ ~ I should open my heart, even if it means vulnerability

I am gifted ~ ~ ~ God is the Creator of the heavens and the earth. I have miniscule gifts next to his, but I can praise Him with them.

I want to help this person ~ ~ ~ God help this person, and if I can help You help them, give me the wisdom to do so.

 

I can’t become humble by striving to become so. Only by watching Jesus. I trust that my Father’s rod and staff will discipline me, reveal arrogance more and more to me, and lead me on paths of righteousness. Thank God that Jesus fulfills perfect humilty on behalf of His children who trust in Him.

Do you have any contrasts of your own?

Responses

  1. 1 John 1:8 relates:

    Pride says “I have no sin.” Humility says “I am sinful and He is faithful and just to forgive me my sin and to cleanse me from all unrighteousness.”

  2. From Brett Harris (therebelution.com):

    “Our humanistic dream is that we may do great things for God. Yet the theme of grace is what he does for us!”


Leave a Reply

Categories

