Posted by: Phoebe | December 15, 2009

Reading About Things I’ve Never Seen: Tiger. And Twilight.

Since school ended and I finished with all my performances, the pianist in me has gone into hibernation and the bookworm has been reborn. I’ve been reading books (Start Your Family by Candice Watters, The Tempest by Shakespeare, and A Meaningful World: How the Arts and Sciences Reveal the Genius of Nature by Wiker and Witt) and poetry (George Herbert and selections on www.poetry.org) and blogs.

I’m not familiar with either of the things I’m posting articles about – I’ve never watched  Tiger Woods play golf and I haven’t read or seen Twilight. But in my reading I have come across some articles that are very well written and that provide fascinating and convicting insight about the human condition.

[If I were nifty with photoshop, I would here insert a picture of Tiger with vampire fangs.

For now, please use your imagination.]

The first set of articles is about Tiger Woods and his tremendous fall, from having the image of a public role model to the image of a public fake.

 Albert Mohler’s article, The Travail of Tiger Woods — Lessons Not to Be Missed, draws warnings from Wood’s situation.

Tim Challies uses the metaphor of a movie set – picturesque, but a false front—to draw similar moral conclusions in his article Lessons from Tiger.

In Tiger, Barack, and the Law of Transitivity, Lisa Schiffren at the American Thinker website warns people not to trust in human gods, whether Tiger Woods or Barack Obama

The second set of articles is about the Twilight book and movie series. Twilight has been criticized as a fad, immoral, and appealing only to girls. I haven’t read the series so I do not have my own opinion, except that I don’t want to bother reading it. The first two excellent articles are analytical, but not necessarily negative. The last is a medley of several things.

In Twilight’s Vast Gleaming: John Granger Explains the Widespread Popularity of Stephenie Meyer’s Twilight Series, Bobby Maddex at Salvo magazine interviews John Granger, who is writing a book on the artistry and meaning of Twilight. Granger is mostly positive about the value of the story and explains why it communicates powerful to a contemporary audience. He provides insight into the culture and philosophy that Twilight reflects.

In Salvo’s cousin, my favorite magazine Touchstone, Granger provides fascinating details about Mormon Vampires in the Garden of Eden, explaining how Stephenie Meyer’s Mormon background influenced the allegory and metaphors of the story.

Last, Schubert’s Killer Abs! Jeremy Denk is a world-famous concert pianist (who kindly gave me a lesson last October!). He also writes a blog, with a mixture of musical analysis and witty cultural commentary. This article appealed to me on many levels– I’m excited about playing Schubert’s song cycle “Die Schone Mullerin” next year and I will probably never watch Twilight. Denk describes how, against his will, he ended up at a movie theater watching New Moon (of all things.) In the soundtrack of the movie is a Schubert song, which leads him to all sorts of musings about the perception of classical music in popular culture. Denk rhapsodizes on the superlative beauty of Schubert’s song and Goethe’s poem, especially within the irony of its context.  

I want to write a more Christ-oriented post soon. For now, read the links and comment here if you liked anything in particular!

Responses

  1. Tiger, Tiger, Tiger.
    Pride of Life
    Lust of the Eye
    Lust of the flesh

    Jesus ensures me that if I could remove these snares from my life daily, whether it is His desire to allow me stand before Kings or remain as a PECULIAR commoner, I may be able to stand on truth and love. My will only leads to destruction because how could a blind man lead himself unless he or she is led by the hand.

    However Tiger, I still love you and know that God loves you more because he has declared that:

    2 Corinthians 12:9
    “And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me.”

    (well-written blog post) nice things covered as well.

    • ood points, Pat. We can’t stand apart from Tiger and judge him — we are made of the same flesh and must resist the same temptations. Our attitude to him must be sorrow over his sin and hope that he can repent and turn to Christ. We can only do so by the grace of Christ.

  2. George Herbert is the man. ‘Nuff said. But actually I wanted to say the seed-planting post was good – and Dr. Markos was my English prof and good friend. Have you met him?


Leave a Reply

Categories

