Posted by: Phoebe | March 2, 2010

Faithful Wounds

“Faithful are the wounds of a friend;

profuse are the kisses of an enemy.”

In wounding a friend, there are so many questions…

how? how much? how deep? how strong?

It is said “do to others

as you would have them do to you.”

If I am in error, or even unbalanced,

I want kind reproof, I want honest wounds.

And yet the questions how and how much and how strong

would I want to be wounded?

The faithful friend only knows he must.

He must have strong reproof tempered with gracious love.

It may be an eyedrop, to wash out a speck.

It may be the gush of a fire-engine hose, to budge a log.

Strong enough to dislodge friendship?

I hope not enough to dislodge mine.

But I must be faithful to my friend,

as I would want him to be faithful to me.

Prov. 27:6, Luke 6:31

Leave a Reply

Categories

