Posted by: Phoebe | March 15, 2010

Waiting

Lord, I am waiting for guidance to a place, a job, a pursuit, a provision. I do not even know exactly what I want, but I wait for you to fulfill my longings in your time. I wait the same for those I love, many of whom are in more dire, discouraging, and confusing circumstances.
 
Waiting for marriage. Sacrificing my dreams of who, what, when, to your choosing and your timing.
 
Right now, for word from graduate school. I must believe you have a plan and not berate myself for my inadequacies of planning.
 
Waiting for a rift between friends to be bridged by repentance, forgiveness and reconciliation. Is it possible? Yes, but when? And when do I speak or act?
 
Waiting for wounds to heal — when Lord? (I myself don’t think of myself as having many wounds, but there are a few. And the wounds of my friends and family affect me. I want to bear their burdens.)
 
Waiting for an email, waiting for lunch, waiting for sleep.
 
Lord, in this time before Easter, but also all my life I want to wait for you. I want to seek you and receive the pain and joy of remembering your death and resurrection. Teach me to wait for you more than I wait for anything else. That is not easy to pray, because I know that to answer that prayer, you will give me practice… in waiting. But you will also come to me and satisfy my longings, I know. Thank you for being a loving and faithful father to me. 
“my soul waits for the Lord more than watchmen for the morning, more than watchmen for the morning.” Psalm 130:6
Leave a Reply

Categories

