Posted by: Phoebe | July 14, 2010

BSC: Task 3: Romans 12:9-13

I’m behind with the Tasks. This should be a study in letting go of my perfectionism! For my notes, I know I don’t have to write epistles, but somehow I do anyway. I should set myself small goals. However, I’ve also started Task 4 and have plans to talk to a dear friend for Task 5.

Task 3 was to memorize Romans 12:9-13. It is a list of commands from Paul. I’ve quoted it to my sister to test myself; let’s see if I can write it from memory. If Paul was modern, maybe he would have written it in a bullet list. 😉 I’m memorizing in the ESV translation, but put NASB here in parenthesis.

* Let love be genuine (without hypocrisy)
* Abhor evil; cling to what is good

* Love one another with brotherly affection (be devoted to one another in brotherly love)
* Outdo one another in showing honor (give preference to one another in honor)

* Do not be slothful in zeal (not lagging behind in diligence)
* be fervent in spirit
* serve the Lord

* Rejoice in hope
* be patient in tribulation (persevering in tribulation)
* be constant in prayer (devoted to prayer)

* Contribute to the needs of the saints
* and seek to show hospitality. (practicing hospitality)

This list is so rich. I feel like I should do a word-study on each word.

As relates to relationships, I’m struck by the intensity of the words. Jesus wants me to be devoted to others, show honor to others eagerly and perpetually. He wants me to be zealous, praying constantly for others. Paul is a good example of what he’s preaching. His love for the people in the churches he planted overflows out of each biblical letter he wrote.

Simply, this challenged me that I should try harder to build my relationships. Try hard sounds like a burden, but Paul is not hesitant in telling me to do just that. In Galatians he says, “And let us not grow weary of doing good, for in due season we will reap, if we do not give up. So then, as we have opportunity, let us do good to everyone, and especially to those who are of the household of faith.” (Galatians 6:9-10 ESV)

I pray that the Lord will work on me and that I will become like Paul, rejoicing in serving others because of my anchored hope in Jesus.

Leave a Reply

Categories

